U gebruikt een verouderde browser. Wij raden u aan een upgrade van uw browser uit te voeren naar de meest recente versie.







Blitzkrieg was formed in Leicester in October 1980. Their first demo, made in November that year, secured them their first recording deal with Neat Records resulting in the famous Blitzkrieg/Buried Alive single & a track on the Lead Weight compilation album.

The band released 2 singles on Neat: Ross then left to join Satan with whom he recorded the classic Caught In The Act album which was released by Roadrunner & licensed to Neat for the UK. After the success of the Satan album & European tours, the band’s direction became unclear & Ross decided to leave & concentrate on managing the North East band Lone Wolf (Brian performed vocals on the single Your Move). Now Ross decided that it was time to record the Blitzkrieg LP that had been planned way back in 1981, entitled A Time Of Changes: it was released in 1985 on Neat/Roadrunner with recruits from the previous bands brought in to record the album. Meanwhile, Metallica covered the song Blitzkrieg on their Creeping Death EP. In 1991 the band made a mini album called Ten Years Of Blitzkrieg for Roadrunner to celebrate their tenth anniversary, re-recording the Blitzkrieg /Buried Alive tracks together with 3 new numbers.


In 1995 Neat Records re-launched with Ex TOPT vocalist , Jess Cox , now the new owner & he immediately signed Blitzkrieg on a 3 album deal: Unholy Trinity, Ten & The Mists Of Avalon were the result (also released in Japan on Pony Canyon Records). Another boost from Metallica came when the USA rockers again covered the Blitzkrieg track on their Live Shit box set & their 1998 album Garage Inc, and the b-side of their 7″`Whisky in the Jar`


2002 saw the release of their new album Absolute Power on Jess Cox`s new label Edgy Records, to rave reviews worldwide. A spate of interviews in Europe, the UK & the USA followed with a string of festival dates in Europe (& the US) which helped push the band back into the spotlight once more. Absolute Power was released in Brazil on Hellion Records & as an LP in Sweden by TPL Records. Following the release of their double Anthology CD on Sanctuary Records the band released their first live album on Metal Nation Records (again owned by Jess Cox). Following the release of Absolutely live, the band went on to record the critically acclaimed “Sins and Greed” which was released in mid 2005.

In 2007 the band signed to German label Armageddon Records and released “Theatre of the Damned”, which was co-produced by Saxon frontman Biff Byford after Blitzkrieg opened for Saxon a year earlier on their UK tour.

2012 ushered a new line up to the ranks with Bill Baxter, Mick Kerrigan and Alan Ross replacing Guy Laverick and the Brewis brothers , on November 5th 2013 and after a lengthy European tour the band released `Back From Hell` on the Metal Nation Records label.2014 brought in another European trek and some festivals and in 2015 the band celebrated its 35th anniversary by re recording the debut album `A Time of Changes`to be released as a 30th Anniversary reboot on the Metal Nation Records label , this would be the first release to feature new drummer Matt Graham who replaced Kerrigan on the drum stool early in 2015 and would also see the band debut in shows for South America taking in countries Ecuador , Chile , Colombia , Peru , Argentina and Brazil on the South American tour.

2017 and the band have been joined by new bass player Huw Holding, Blitzkrieg also departed the Metal Nation Records label and signed for Danish number one metal label `Mighty Music` ,work has already began on the recording of new material, the first release on Mighty Music is a single/ep tentative for a late summer release followed by the new Blitzkrieg album on Mighty Music late 2017/ early 2018. 



Deze site maakt gebruik van cookies om informatie op uw computer op te slaan.

Gaat u akkoord?